Options

Top  Previous  Next

You may specify some options for SecretBurner on this panel. You may reach it by clicking Tools on the left pane.

Wiping Settings

Click to enlarge
Wiping settings tab

 

Wiping Settings


Wiping settings knob

You may select algorithms to wipe files and unused space on disks. Go to the Wiping Algorithms help page for more information on algorithms SecretBurner uses to burn your files and wipe unused disk space.

Optimal burning: Pseudo-random for both files and unused space.

High burning: DoD 5200.22-M (3 passes) for both files and unused space.

Custom: Select the algorithms manually.

Unused Space Wiping

Select manually a wiping algorithm for wiping unused disk space. When you change this settings, the Wiping settings knob will turn to Custom.

Files Wiping

Select manually a wiping algorithm for wiping files. When you change this settings, the Wiping settings knob will turn to Custom.

Wipe Cluster Tips

Select this option if you want SecretBurner to wipe free parts of the clusters where the file resides.

Wipe Alternate Data Streams

Select this option if you want SecretBurner to wipe all streams associated with this file (for the NTFS file system only)

Wipe System, Internet activity, and Application plugin files Before Deleting

Select this option if you want SecretBurner to wipe files cleaned in the System, Internet Activity, and Application plugins sections before deleting them.

Wipe MFT Records

Select this option if your want SecretBurner to wipe records of small files stored directly in the NTFS Master File Table (MFT). Applicable to the NTFS file system only.

Log Settings

Click to enlarge
Logs tab

 

Logs settings


Enable Logging

Select this option if you want SecretBurner to log all its actions

View Log button

Click this button to view the log. You may see an example of the log on the Log help page.

Clear Log button

Click this button to delete the log

Advanced Settings

Click to enlarge
Advanced settings tab

 

Wiping Settings


Shortcut menu integration

Shortcut menu in Windows Explorer

Select this option if you want SecretBurner to burn (wipe) files directly from Windows Explorer. Delete/Wipe with BYS will appear on the file shortcut menu.

Shortcut menu in Recycle Bin

Select this option if you want SecretBurner to burn (wipe) deleted files stored in the Recycle Bin. Securely Empty with BYS sill appear on the Recycle Bin shortcut menu.

Password

Password

Enter the password if you want to protect access to SecretBurner with a password.

Confirm Password

Re-enter the password to confirm that you have entered your password correctly.

Enable Password

Select this option if your want to protect access to SecretBurner with a password.